deutsch english

Firmware Development

Most of today's communication devices are based on microcontroller units (MCUs) and transceiver ICs. The functionality of the devices are defined in their firmware, which makes the development to our core discipline. For this, we have implemented a full firmware engineering process, which is based on, but is not limited to the following elements:

 
Reusability

Reusability

Over time, we have been collecting a good number of basic library elements and design patterns, that speed up development of common functionality and increasing code quality in parallel.

 
Portability

Portability

As we are used to work with very many different microcontrollers and transceiver platforms, a clean hardware abstraction is a must. Over the years we gained the experience to handle and abstract a lot of different semiconductors and do know the requirements in order to build a flexible but full featured interface design to the hardware.

 
Project Management

Project Management

The management of complex projects is of key importance. Internally we do agile development, partly based on SCRUM, partly based on other agile approaches, in combination with test driven development whenever reasonable. Furthermore, well proven and established tools, like e.g. GIT-based version control and Redmine based issue tracking, do help us to combine clean processes with efficiency.

 
Test and Verification

Test & Verification

Most of our software is jointly developed with unit tests of the smallest units, but also unit tests in a logical scope. In addition, we make extensive use of automated test benches on the system level to ensure reliable regression testing. These systems tests are done in simulated, emulated and real environments.

Firmware Entwicklung


Die meisten heutigen Kommunikationsgeräte basieren auf Mikrokontrollereinheiten (MCUs) und Transceivern (ICs). Die Funktionalität der Geräte ist in ihrer Firmware definiert, was deren Entwicklung zu unserer Kerndisziplin macht. Wir verfügen über einen kompletten Firmware-Entwicklungsprozess, welcher auf den folgenden Elementen basiert, aber natürlich nicht auf diese limitiert ist:

 

Wiederverwendbarkeit

Im Laufe der Zeit haben wir eine große Palette an Elementen und Design-Mustern gesammelt, welche die Entwicklung gängiger Funktionalitäten erleichtern und beschleunigen und darüber hinaus die Code Qualität verbessert.

Portabilität

Wir sind es gewohnt, mit vielen verschiedenen Mikrokontrollern und Transceiver-Plattformen zu arbeiten. Eine saubere Hardware-Abstraktion ist für uns daher ein Muss. Mit der Zeit haben wir die notwendige Erfahrung gesammelt, um viele verschiedene Halbleiter be- und verarbeiten zu können, sowie die Kenntnis darüber erlangt, flexible und komplett ausgestattete Oberflächen-Designs der Hardware zu gestalten.

Projekt und Source Code MANAGEMENT

Die Leitung komplexer Projekte bedarf hoher Anforderungen. Intern arbeiten wir mit einer agilen Entwicklung, teilweise auf SCRUM, teilweise auf anderen agilen Ansätzen basierend. Diese kombinieren wir wann immer notwendig mit testgesteuerter Entwicklung. Zusätzlich nutzen wir GIT-basierte Versionskontrollen, Fehlersuchen und kontinuierliche Integration via Gitlab, sowie ein Projekemanagement mit BlueAnt (by proventis).

TEST & VERIFIKATION

Die meisten unserer Softwareprodukte werden mit Unit-Tests in den kleinsten sinnvollen Einheiten entwickelt. Zusätzlich nutzen wir automatisierte Testsysteme auf Systemlevel, um verlässliche Regressionstests sicherzustellen. Diese Systemtests werden in simulierten, nachgeahmten und reelen Umgebungen durchgeführt.